BERKSHIRE Breaking Wokingham

Fourteen of the best recognised at the Community Policing Awards

On Tuesday evening Thames Valley Police celebrated the winners of the Community Policing Awards 2019, in a ceremony held at Eynsham Hall in Oxfordshire.

The awards recognise the outstanding contribution and efforts of Thames Valley Police’s officers and staff throughout the year and the positive impact that they have on the local communities that they serve.

Nominations opened in January giving members of the public, community groups, partners, police officers and staff an opportunity to put forward the names of anyone they thought deserved to be recognised for their work over the past 12 months.

Over 400 nominations were whittled down to just 14 winners. Chair of the judging panel, Assistant Chief Constable Nikki Ross said: “The Community Policing Awards give residents, community organisations and business the opportunity to recognise a member of our force they think has gone above and beyond the call of duty to make a difference to local people and local communities.

“The response from residents this year was excellent and it was inspiring to see the difference the winners and other nominees are making in their communities to the everyday lives of residents in the Thames Valley.

“Selecting the winners was a difficult but rewarding experience for the panel and I would like to congratulate the winners as well as acknowledge all of the nominees for their hard work and dedication.”


The winners are:

Paul Swannell, Anti-Social Behaviour Mediator, Milton Keynes – Volunteer 2019

Robert Ruck-Keene, Milton Keynes – Community Volunteer 2019

Kerrie Ingham, Wantage – Special Constable 2019

Denise Hawkes, Beaconsfield – Buckinghamshire Police Community Support Officer (PCSO) 2019

Tom Walcott-Smith, Wantage – Oxfordshire Police Community Support Officer (PCSO) 2019

Magda Molenda, Bracknell – Berkshire and Overall Police Community Support Officer (PCSO) 2019

Charlotte Moule, Bracknell and Wokingham – Cadet 2019

Julie Susel, Wokingham – Berkshire Community Officer 2019

Adrian Cafe, Wolverton – Buckinghamshire Community Officer 2019

Sarah Merritt, Wantage – Oxfordshire and Overall Community Officer 2019

Craig Freeman, Aylesbury – Problem Solving Award 2019

John Blewett, Bracknell – Staff Lifetime Achievement Award 2019

Granville Williams, Oxford – Officer Lifetime Achievement Award 2019

Kevin Flint – Special Recognition Award 2019